This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Ashford University Sponsors 24th Annual “A Salute to Teachers” Event
The 2015 San Diego County Teachers of the Year named during gala celebration

This past weekend, Ashford University sponsored the 24th annual A Salute to Teachers event to honor San Diego’s outstanding educators. The black-tie gala, held Oct. 11 at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego, was a presentation of the 41st Annual San Diego County Teacher of the Year Awards.

"We in San Diego are so lucky to have a community that supports education at this level,” said Dr. Randy Ward, superintendent of schools for San Diego County. “Teachers who attend A Salute to Teachers leave feeling tremendously honored – as well they should since they represent the 26,000 San Diego County teachers who work hard on behalf of children every day."

Five exceptional educators – selected from a pool of 42 nominees representing 26,000 San Diego school teachers in 42 districts – were named 2015 San Diego County Teachers of the Year and are now in the running for California’s Teacher of the Year. Nominees were selected by their school districts based on student achievement, teaching philosophy, and the ability to serve as ambassadors of education.

Ashford University provost Dr. Lori Williams presented the first San Diego Teacher of the Year finalist to the sold-out crowd of 1,200.

“Ashford University is proud to honor the County’s amazing teachers and to share in your success,” said Dr. Williams. “Teachers are the key to providing a rich education and getting kids excited about learning. As teachers, you ensure our children have the best chance at a bright future.”

The San Diego County Teachers of the Year are:

  • Mary Goins, Lakeside Middle School (Lakeside Union School District)
  • John Berray, West Hills High School (Grossmont Union High School District)
  • Sara Matthews, Sara Anthony School (San Diego County Office of Education)
  • Khamphet Pease, Wilson Middle School (San Diego Unified School District)
  • Maria Teran-Cruz, Jefferson Elementary School (Carlsbad Unified School District)

The Salute to Teachers award ceremony aired live on San Diego’s Channels 4 and 1004 and will replay on those same channels at 6:00 p.m. on Oct. 18, 8:00 p.m. on Oct. 24, and 7:00 p.m. on Oct. 25. The 24th annual A Salute to Teachers was a coproduction of Cox Communications and the San Diego County Office of Education.


About Ashford University
Where heritage meets innovation – that’s Ashford University. At Ashford, students discover relevant degree programs, innovative technology, and cherished tradition. Ashford offers associates, bachelor’s, and master’s online degree programs, while the Clinton, Iowa campus offers bachelor’s programs. Whether on campus or online, Ashford students enjoy the same supportive community. For more information, please visit,,, or call Shari Winet, Vice President of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.