This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Ashford University Honors Teachers with Award and Scholarship
Public may nominate educators for Teacher of the Year award

For the sixth consecutive year, Ashford University will recognize local educators with two special honors. Teachers can apply for a full scholarship for one of the University’s master’s level teacher education programs. In addition, Ashford is accepting nominations for the Teacher of the Year award.

“We believe it’s important to recognize the teachers who play such a vital role in the lives of our children,” said Dr. Joen Larson, dean of Ashford University’s College of Education, in announcing the 2015 program. “We encourage teachers who want to continue their education to apply for this scholarship and, if you’ve had a teacher who has made a difference in your life or the life of your child, now is the perfect time to show your appreciation by nominating him or her for the Teacher of the Year award.”

The scholarship winner may enroll in either of Ashford University’s two online teacher education programs – the Master of Arts in Education or the Master of Arts in Teaching and Learning with Technology. The scholarship includes full program tuition, all books, and a technology fee waiver. Materials with information about the scholarship application process have been provided to area schools.

The 2015 Teacher of the Year award honors a local educator who has made a positive impact on the lives of his or her students. The winner will receive $500 for classroom materials or supplies.

To nominate someone for the “Teacher of the Year” award, send the following to Dr. Larson at Ashford University, 400 N. Bluff Blvd., Clinton, IA 52732:

  • Your name and relationship to the nominee;
  • Your contact information (daytime phone number and email address);
  • Nominated teacher’s name;
  • Nominated teacher’s contact information (daytime phone number and email address);
  • Nominated teacher’s school name/district;
  • Nominated teacher’s grade level or subject; and
  • Narrative describing why the teacher should receive the Ashford University Teacher of the Year Award.

To be eligible for either the scholarship or the Teacher of the Year award, educators must be employed at a public or private K-12 school in the Iowa counties of Clinton, Scott, or Jackson, the Illinois counties of Carroll, Whiteside, or Rock Island, or any school district that has hosted Ashford student-teacher clinical placements. Program participants must be employed at schools in these areas; residency is not a determining factor.

The deadline to apply for the scholarships and to submit nominations for the Teacher of the Year award is April 1, 2015.

For additional information or to obtain application or nomination materials, please contact Dr. Larson at 563.242.4023, ext.7790.



About Ashford University

Where heritage meets innovation – that’s Ashford University. At Ashford, students discover relevant degree programs, innovative technology, and cherished tradition. Ashford offers associates, bachelor’s, and master’s online degree programs, while the Clinton, Iowa campus offers bachelor’s programs. Whether on campus or online, Ashford students enjoy the same supportive community. For more information, please visit,,, or call Shari Winet, Vice President of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.