This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Ashford University Faculty Member Wins the IACTE Iowa Teacher Education Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Joen Larson received the award at the IACTE Spring Conference

Dr. Joen Larson, dean of the college of education at Ashford University, won the Iowa Teacher Education Distinguished Service Award from the Iowa Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (IACTE). The award is presented to an individual who has truly exemplified passion, practice, commitment, and caring in areas associated with teacher education in Iowa.

“The IACTE Iowa Teacher Education Distinguished Service Award recognizes superior educators like Dr. Larson who have donated their time and support to helping improve teacher education in Iowa,” said Dr. Tony Farrell, executive dean for the college of education at Ashford University. “Dr. Larson is very deserving of this award, as her commitment, dedication, and service throughout the years has greatly impacted the students and schools of Iowa.”

Larson received her award during the IACTE Spring Conference held at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, Mar. 31-Apr. 1, 2016.

The IACTE seeks to continuously improve teacher preparation, the teaching profession, and student learning by supporting and applying scholarship and the collective wisdom of practice. The Association is a state alliance of educator preparation programs dedicated to the highest quality professional development of teachers and school leaders in order to enhance PK-12 student learning.


About Ashford University

Where heritage meets innovation – that’s Ashford University. At Ashford, students discover relevant degree programs, innovative technology, and cherished tradition. Ashford offers associates, bachelor’s, and master’s online degree programs. For more information, please visit,,, or call Marianne Perez, Media Relations Manager, at 858.513.9240 x11636.