This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Awards Presented at Three Ceremonies at Ashford University
Individuals, organizations recognized at Ashford

As its final semester wound down, Ashford University held two ceremonies to honor outstanding individuals and organizations during the 2015-2016 academic year.

At the Spring Awards and Recognition Ceremony on April 28, the following awards were presented:

Sister Phyllis Morris Service Award: Megan Black, Janesville, Wisc.; Elizabeth Nardi, De Pere, Wisc. and Nicole Schmidt, Beaver Dam, Wisc.

Office of Student Access & Wellness Self Determination Award: Corrine Hubbard, Machesney Park, Ill.

Alex Esquivel Promising Teacher Award: Mariela Lissette Marin, Chicago, Ill. and Michael Murphy, Camanche, Iowa.

Sister Marilyn Shea Outstanding Dispositions Award: Ashley Kathryn Horst, Clinton, Iowa.

Health Science Award: Marquel Raylee Schultheis, Clinton, Iowa.

Health Care Administration Award: Joshua Anim Anno, Kumasi, Ghana and Brittany Cross, Orlando, Fla.

Psychology Award: Amanda Kay Briese, Fulton, Ill. and Md Rashedul Islam, Haragach, Bangladesh.

Science Award: Ama Asantewaa Agyabeng, Sunyani, Kumasi, Ghana.

Mathematics Award: Kimberly Anne Borowczyk, Niantic, Ill. and Jacob-Allen Oldaker, Clinton, Iowa

Joan Walsh Richeson Award: Celeste McKay, Port Byron, Ill.

James L. Mooney Award: Katlyn Schimerowski, Eldridge, Iowa.

Business Scholar’s Award: Elizabeth Nicole Nardi, De Pere, Wisc. and Alex Matthew Miner, Dysart, Iowa.

Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants (ISCPA) Student Award: Timothy Lindstrom, Rockford, Ill.

Office of Student Access and Wellness Advocacy Award Advocacy Award: Sarah Gall and Ed Gall, Clinton, Iowa.


Following the academic awards ceremony on April 28, the Ashford University Athletics Department presented the following awards during its Ashford University Sports Performance Yearly Awards (AUSPY) Ceremony:

Newcomer: Cameron St. Prix-Mitchelle, London, England.

Breakthrough: Clarissa Blick, Davenport, Iowa.

Best Record Breaking Performance: Nicole Schmidt, Beaver Dam, Wisc.

Inspirational Athlete of the Year: Bridgette Griffin, East Moline, Ill.

Best Game or Individual Performance: Taylor Ellestad, Cottage Grove, Wisc.

Comeback Player of the Year: Kane Klais, Fennimore, Wisc.

Male Athlete of the Year: Adam Wood, Perth, Australia.

Female Athlete of the Year: Pakalana Helekahi, Hana, Hawaii.

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year: Joshua Anim Anno, Kumasi, Ghana.

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year: Brittany Cross, Orlando, Fla.


On April 14, Ashford’s Student Affairs Department held its Student Leaders & Student Affairs Appreciation Banquet and presented the following awards:

Student Organization of the Year: Men of Honor.

Program of the Year: Homecoming 2015, Ashford University Activities Board

Outstanding Empowerment Award: Melissa Smrz, Seneca, Ill. and Keyonna Moore, Chicago, Ill.

Outstanding Mentor Award: Dr. William Woods.

Advisor of the Year: Christina Mahoney.

Outstanding Student Leader of the Year:  Efrain Ibarra, Chicago, Ill. and Rebecca Wolfe, Fort Madison, Iowa.

Resident Assistant (RA) of the Year: Chelsea Whitmore, Le Grand, Iowa.

Outstanding Senior RAs: Chelsea Whitmore, Le Grand, Iowa and Jasmine Nelson, Chicago, Ill.

RA Exemplary Attitude: Corinne Hubbard, Machesney Park, Ill.

RA Excellence in Programming: Megan Black, Janesville, Wisc. and Lenell Andrews, Chicago, Ill.

RA Creative Bulletin Boards: Danielle Rzewnicki, Harwood Heights, Ill.

RA Administrative Excellence: Megan Black, Janesville, Wisc.

RA Excellence in Community Standards: Jasmine Nelson, Chicago, Ill.

Dr. Martinelle Bonnell, OSF Award: Cristian Pacheco, Rockford, Ill.


About Ashford University

Where heritage meets innovation – that’s Ashford University. At Ashford, students discover relevant degree programs, innovative technology, and cherished tradition. Ashford offers associates, bachelor’s, and master’s degree programs online, allowing students to balance life by providing the flexibility to do school work anywhere, anytime. For more information, please visit,,, or call Marianne Perez, Media Relations Manager, at 858.513.9240 x11636.