This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Outstanding Students and Organizations Honored at Ashford University
Awards presented during two end-of-semester evnts

At the conclusion of Ashford University’s spring semester, the University honored May 2014 graduates, outstanding students, and student organizations at two recognition events.

On April 24, Ashford held its annual academic and graduate recognition and reception event. Ashford celebrated its spring semester graduates and presented awards to campus students. Recognized during the event were:

Sister Phyllis Morris Service Learning Award: Margaret (Kathy) Frye, Camanche, Iowa

Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants Student Award: Amanda Coder, East Moline, Ill.

Accounting Commendation Award: Theodora Allen, DeWitt, Iowa; Jessica Daw, Port Byron, Ill.; and Meghan Keller, Eldridge, Iowa

Business Scholar’s Award: Ben Ingram, Davenport, Iowa and Ashley Rzewnicki, Harwood Heights, Ill.

Alex Esquivel Promising Teacher Award: Shelby Wilkens, Fulton, Ill.

Sister Marilyn Shea Outstanding Dispositions Award: Spencer Lueders, Bryant, Iowa

Academic Excellence Psychology Award: Diana Ortega, Monticello, Ind.

Academic Excellence in Science Award: Jacy Higby, Eldridge, Iowa and Nelson McKay, Port Byron, Ill.

Academic Excellence in Mathematics Award: Trang Trinh, Des Moines, Iowa

Academic Excellence in Health Care Award: Sarah Gray, Wheatland, Iowa

Joan Walsh Richeson Excellence in Liberal Arts Award: Chase Cartwright, Princeton, Ill.

James L. Mooney Award: Stephanie Brandwein, Oswego, Ill.


During the student leaders recognition banquet on April 22, a variety of end-of-the-year awards were presented to individuals and campus organizations and groups. Recipients included:


Student Organization of the Year: Golden Key Honour Society

Emerging Organization of the Year: Men of Honor

Emerging Leader of the Year: Alicia Nolen, Riverdale, Ill.

Outstanding Empowerment Award: Women of Color

Advisor of the Year: Dr. William Woods

Team Effort of the Year: Golden Key Honour Society

Outstanding Mentor Award: Savannah Mussington

Best Programs of the Year: Fine Arts Club - “Clue: The Musical;” Nerf Club - Zombie Week and Fine Arts Club - Music Festival

Outstanding Student Leaders: Chase Cartwright, Princeton, Ill.; Gema Delgado,  Rockford, Ill.; Loren Thacher, Mount Carroll, Ill.; Joshua Wehde, Clinton, Iowa; and Andrew Filler, Oakville, Ontario, Canada

Recreation Leadership Award: Andres Vernazza, Montevideo, Ala.

Recreation Athlete Award: Chris Kimbrough, Rockford, Ill. and Becca Hoder, Villa Park, Ill.

Student Government Association Outstanding Executive Leader Awards: Connor Murphy, De Witt, Iowa; Branden Lambiase, Metamora, Ill.; and Emily Ramsey, Elgin, Ill.

Student Government Association Outstanding Leadership Awards: Jacob Hofer, Henry, Ill. and Renee Christiansen, De Witt, Iowa

Ashford University Activities Board Outstanding Executive Leader Awards: Kylie Willson, Walker, Iowa; Alexus Harrison, Chicago, Ill.; and Lenell Andrews, Chicago, Ill.

Ashford University Activities Board Outstanding Leadership Awards: Corinne Armbrust, Seneca, Ill. and Darius Reynolds, Chicago, Ill.

Student Government Association Awards: Emily Ramsey, Elgin, Ill.; Branden Lambiase, Metamora, Ill.; Loren Thacher, Mount Carroll, Ill.; Connor Murphy, De Witt, Iowa; Lazara Balcena, Stafford, Va.; Jacob Hofer, Henry, Ill.; Aaron McCray, Chadwick, Ill.; Charley Holsinger, Stillman Valley, Ill.; Joe Naszke, Seneca, Ill.; and Renee Christiansen, De Witt, Iowa

Ashford University Activities Board Awards: Kylie Willson, Walker, Iowa; Alexus Harrison, Chicago, Ill.; Lenell Andrews, Chicago, Ill.; Jasmine Nelson, Chicago, Ill.;

Jasmine Ayard, Waterloo, Iowa; Byron Needham, Chicago, Ill.; Brenda Arteaga, Chicago, Ill.; Michael Niemann, De Witt, Iowa; Corinne Armbrust, Seneca, Ill.; Darius Reynolds, Chicago, Ill.; Dion Williams, Chicago, Ill.; and Megan Black, Janesville, Wis.


About Ashford University

Achievement belongs to all of us at Ashford University. By offering a traditional college campus as well as online degree programs, Ashford meets the diverse needs of individuals pursuing integrity in their lives and in their communities. Students may earn an associates, bachelor’s, or master’s degree online, while campus students in Clinton, Iowa may earn a bachelor’s degree. Whether on campus or online, Ashford students enjoy the same supportive community. For more information, please visit or call Shari Winet, Vice President of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.