This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Ashford University Honors Teachers with Award and Scholarship
Public may nominate educators for "Teacher of the Year" award

For the fifth year, Ashford University will honor local educators with a “Teacher of the Year” award and by offering a full scholarship for one of the University’s master’s level teacher education programs.

“We believe it’s important to recognize the teachers who play such a vital role in the lives of our children,” said Dr. Joen Larson, dean of Ashford University’s College of Education, in announcing the 2014 program. “We encourage teachers who want to continue their education to apply for this scholarship and, if you’ve had a teacher who has made a difference in your life or the life of your child, now is the perfect time to show your appreciation by nominating him or her.”

The scholarship winner may enroll in either of Ashford University’s two online teacher education programs – the Master of Arts in Education or the Master of Arts in Teaching and Learning with Technology. The scholarship includes full program tuition, all books, and a technology fee waiver.

The recipient of the Teacher of the Year award will receive $500 for classroom materials or supplies.

To nominate someone for the “Teacher of the Year” award, send the following to Dr. Larson, Ashford University, P.O. Box 2967, Clinton, IA 52732:

  • Your name and relationship to the nominee;
  • Your contact information (daytime phone number and email address);
  • Nominee teacher’s name;
  • Nominee teacher’s contact information (daytime phone number and email address);
  • Nominee teacher’s school name/district;
  • Nominee teacher’s grade level or subject; and
  • Narrative describing why the teacher should receive the Ashford University Teacher of the Year Award.

Materials with information about the scholarship application process have been provided to area schools.

To be eligible for the scholarship or “Teacher of the Year” award, educators must be employed at a public or private K-12 school in the Iowa counties of Clinton, Scott or Jackson, the Illinois counties of Carroll, Whiteside or Rock Island, or any school district that has hosted Ashford student-teacher clinical placements. Program participants must be employed at schools in these areas; residency is not a determining factor.

The deadline to apply for the scholarships and to submit nominations for the Teacher of the Year award is March 15, 2014.

For additional information or to obtain application or nomination materials, please contact Dr. Larson at 563.242.4023, ext.7790.



About Ashford University

Achievement belongs to all of us at Ashford University. By offering a traditional college campus as well as online degree programs, Ashford meets the diverse needs of individuals pursuing integrity in their lives and in their communities. Students may earn an associates, bachelor’s, or master’s degree online, while campus students in Clinton, Iowa may earn a bachelor’s degree. Whether on campus or online, Ashford students enjoy the same supportive community. For more information, please visit or call Shari Winet, Vice President of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.