This is the Tagline, edited under "Misc Content"

Student Leaders and Organizations Recognized at Ashford University
Awards presented at third annual recognition banquet
A new student award was introduced, The Dr. Martinelle Bonnell, OSF Award is named for Dr. Bonnell, academic coach (center in the above photo). Making the announcement were Patricia Niemann and Charlott Glowacki.

Ashford University recognized its 2014-2015 academic year student leaders and student organizations during a banquet on April 7.

During the third annual student leaders’ recognition banquet, the following awards were presented:

  • Student Organization of the Year, given to the student organization that displays the most outstanding effort in all areas in relation to its mission, based on leadership of the organization in reaching its goals, contributions to the university community, and engagement and leadership development of its members: Men of Honor.
  • Emerging Organization of the Year, given to an emerging student organization that has made significant strides and has shown overall leadership growth in the past year: Service Learning Advisory Board.
  • Emerging Leader of the Year, recognizes emerging leaders who have made significant strides in their personal leadership development: Efrain Ibarra (Chicago, Ill.) and Eden Pirello (Hesperta, Calif.)
  • Outstanding Empowerment Award, given to a student organization that has displayed commitment to diversity and inclusion, service, building community, and student development: The Environmental Association.
  • Programs of the Year, recognizes a successful project and the achievements of an organization for superior performance in the areas of planning, execution, and impact of the event or program: Nerf Club’s Zombie Week, The Environmental Association’s Recycling Program, and AU Life’s Thirst Conference.
  • Advisor of the Year, acknowledges an outstanding advisor for their time, commitment, and mentorship of the organization: Dr. William Woods.
  • Team Effort of the Year, given to teams of two or more student organizations that combined efforts to deliver the most outstanding jointly-sponsored program during the academic year: Women of Color and Golden Key International Honour Society.
  • Outstanding Student Leader, given to an individual who has displayed exceptional leadership skills within an organization: Lenell Andrews (Chicago, Ill.), Megan Black (Janesville, Wisc.), Madelaine Dombeck (Winona, Minn.), Alicia Nolen (Riverdale, Ill.), and Angelica Stonehocker (West Des Moines, Iowa).
  • Outstanding Mentor Award, given to a faculty or staff member who displays characteristics of empowerment, support, guidance, and mentorship that go well beyond the regular duties of advising: Dr. Martinelle Bonnell.
  • Most Outstanding Recreation Female Participant of the Year: Megan Black
  • Most Outstanding Recreation Male Participant of the Year: Jose Solis (Chicago, Ill.) and Zachary Herin (Chadwick, Ill.)
  • Recreation Leadership Award: Cyrus Oates (Rockford, Ill.)
  • The Dr. Martinelle Bonnell, OSF Award, recognizes the value in listening, positive affirmation, and sharing kindness: Wayne Hughes (Chicago, Ill.)

This marked the first year Ashford’s Student Affairs Department has presented the Dr. Martinelle Bonnell, OSF Award. In making the announcement of the award, Patricia Niemann, career services specialist, said, “Dr. Bonnell is a trailblazer in higher education. Her passion for education and mentoring cultivates student transformation with humor and honesty. This award exemplifies her philosophy and dedication to the success of others.”


About Ashford University

Where heritage meets innovation – that’s Ashford University. At Ashford, students discover relevant degree programs, innovative technology, and cherished tradition. Ashford offers associates, bachelor’s, and master’s online degree programs, while the Clinton, Iowa campus offers bachelor’s programs. Whether on campus or online, Ashford students enjoy the same supportive community. For more information, please visit,,, or call Shari Winet, Vice President of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.